Singleton Clontarf Academy celebrate students at award presentation

Proud parents, teachers and students gathered at Singleton High School on Tuesday December 5 to celebrate what has been a phenomenal year for the Singleton Clontarf Academy.

In a wonderful presentation ceremony, the Clontarf students shared their 2017 highlights, speaking of school excursions, training days and their educational successes.

Singleton High School principal, Ms Jo Scott started the evening ceremony by sharing stories of inspiring Indigenous figures.

From the likes of David Unaipon who features on the Australian fifty dollar note to AFL star, Adam Goodes, Ms Scott asked the Clontarf boys to think about what they might achieve in the future and dared them to dream big.

SUCCESS: The 2017 Clontarf Academy students.

SUCCESS: The 2017 Clontarf Academy students.

“The Singleton Clontarf Academy goes a long way in setting up our young Indigenous students for a successful life,” she said.

“It’s an absolute privilege to have the Clontarf Academy and our Indigenous boys in our school community.”

The Clontarf Academy gave awards for the most improved student, the top trainer, top attendance, academic success, sportsmanship, the Clontarf spirit award, and the Academy Member of the Year.

The most improved went to Kyle Claydon, a student who has put in 110 per cent into every opportunity given to him.

Saxon Johnson was crowned the top trainer, while Dominic Berry took out the top Attendance award, with a fantastic track record of 100 per cent attendance.

Brock Hamson was recognised for his academic success, and Jordan Jones celebrated his sporting abilities with the top sportsman award.

Beckham Stocks, a student who Clontarf staff described as an absolute joy to be around, was given the Clontarf Spirit award for his consistent efforts and positive attitude throughout the year.

 HARDWORKING: The Academy Member of the Year, Joshua Feeney.

HARDWORKING: The Academy Member of the Year, Joshua Feeney.

The major award of the night, the Academy Member of the Year, went to young Joshua Feeney – a deserving and hardworking young man.

Singleton Clontarf Academy director, Joel Parsons thanked the boys for their efforts in 2017 as well as giving thanks to the Academy sponsors, the Singleton High School staff, and the parents.

To show thanks, six appreciation awards were given out on the night.

Singleton High School staff members Daniel Mead, Tracey Holloway and Jo Scott received awards for their continual educational support, while Uncle Warren, Jo Vincent and Aunty Deidre were awarded for their cultural knowledge and assistance throughout the year.

Congratulations to all award winners.